All-district volleyball filled with LISD players


Cedar Park setter Lind- sey Ledyard capped an amazing senior season being named the District 19-5A Most Valuable Play- er while leading the Lady Timberwolves to a dis- trict co-championship and second place finish in the state tournament.

“Lindsey has a tremen- dous court presence and she runs the offense to take advantage of the op- ponent’s defense,” Cedar Park first-year head coach Kori Cooper said.

Ledyard and Cedar Park’s middle blocker Alana Geymer, who was named the outstanding blocker in the district, were both also named to the All-State tournament team after a Cedar Park run which included an impressive semifinal win over Lucas Lovejoy before a four-set loss in the finals to 10-time state champion Amarillo.

Vanessa Vozza, Luci Albertson and Andrea Grimm were also all named first team for Cedar Park.

Rouse, the district co-champion and regional finalist, losing in a titanic match to Cedar Park, was led by outstanding setter Kaliegh Skopal, outstand- ing hitter Ava Bell and out- standing defensive player

of the year in libero Katy Northcut.

e’Lan McCall, Dani Cole and Maddie Sheehan were also first team all-district for the Raiders.

In District 25-6A, Van- dergrift’s terrific outside hitter Simone Priebe was named Offensive Player of the Year while Viper mid- dle blocker Effie Zielinski was named newcomer of the year. Other local first team 25-6A selections were: Ryan Palmieri (Van- degrift), Bella Benoit (Van- degrift), Jacqueline Ribeiro (Vandegrift) and Pila Gon- zaba (Leander).

Area second team se- lections area were: Taylor Nunez (Cedar Park), Emily Fry (Cedar Park), Grayson Schirpik (Rouse), Katari- na Mendez (Vandegrift), Madison Jaeger (Vande- grift), Mackenzie Catalina (Leander), Skylar Duncan (Leander), Kylie Nothnagel (Vista Ridge) and Ella Lof- ton (Vista Ridge). Named as honorable mention from the area were: Rae- gan Sanders (Cedar Park), Taylor Jerman (Cedar Park), Busisiwe Banda (Le- ander), Madison Berglund (Leander), Riley Cotton (Leander), Paige Wallace (Vista Ridge), Hannah Le- rner (Vista Ridge), Kate Gruben (Vista Ridge), Na- talie Duffield (Vandegrift) and Madison Byrne (Van- degrift).