Candidates head into the final stretch for local elections


Candidates from Cedar Park and Leander are in the final run-up to the May 5 local elections.

Six candidates are currently vying for three places on the Cedar Park City Council and two are running for mayor.  Two-term city council member Corbin Van Arsdale is facing newcomer Bob Cornelius in the Cedar Park mayoral race, while Mel Kirkland and Michael Thompson are seeking the Place 2 council seat vacated by Van Arsdale. 

Patrick Walz and Mike Guevara are running for the Place 4 seat in Cedar Park, and  Shellie Hayes-McMahon will face Dorian Chavez for the Place 6 seat. 

In Leander, seven candidates are running for three available seats on the council while three candidates are vying to replace outgoing mayor Chris Fielder. 

Leander council members Vic Villarreal and Troy Hill are running for mayor, joined by business owner Adam Benefield. 

Michelle Stephenson and Philip Contatore are running for the Place 2 seat.  Place 4 incumbent Ron Abruzzese will face challenger Christine Sederquist.

Marci Cannon, Marshall Hines and Derek Levisay are all vying for the Place 6 seat in Leander.

Early voting for the May 5 election begins next Monday, April 23.

To vote in the May election, voters must have been registered by April 5. Williamson County residents can confirm their voter registration at the Williamson County Elections Department website  Travis County residents can check at Polling sites are listed on both websites.

While the voter requirements are the same, there will be a separate Primary Runoff Election on Tuesday, May 22, 2018. Residents have until April 23 to register to vote in the runoff election.