Girls’ Basketball district awards announced


Nikki Cardano-Hilary, Madison Byrne, Cassie Vaughns, Nicole Leff and Jennifer Parker nabbed superlatives awards, while Vandegrift’s Jonathan Jones and Lori McDonald of Rouse were named their respective district’s Coaches of the Year as the 2016-17 basketball season concluded last weekend with the state tournament in San Antonio.

Cardano-Hillary capped a brilliant high school career as the District 25-6A Most Valuable Player after leading the Rangers to a share of their third straight district title. Vista Ridge lost in playoffs to eventual state qualifier Converse Judson.  

Vaughns was named the Defensive MVP after drawing almost 40 charges this season.

Byrne, who was the Offensive MVP, helped the Lady Vipers to a share of the district title for the first time in school history.

Alicia Molina and Kassadie Sanders of Leander, Loren Goddard and Kallie Roush of Vandegrift and Katie McKie of Vista Ridge were also named to the first-team All-District list. 

Second-team All-District selections were: Natalie Goddard, Bee Gonzales and Kathryn Scott of Vandegrift, and Marley Groat, Ansley Herrin and Vaughns from Vista Ridge.  

Leander saw four athletes on the Honorable Mention list; Allyssa McByers, Tyia Dixon, Sarah Majekodumni and Morgan Worthy. Briyaun Stewart and Julie Shalkowsi from Vista Ridge and Autumn Howell and Ellas Drabos of Vandegrift were also Honorable Mention recipients. 

The Lady Raiders, who advanced to the 5A regional tournament for the first time in school history, saw McDonald named the Coach of the Year and Parker named Defensive MVP. Leff, a Cedar Park freshman, was co-Newcomer of the Year.

First team selections from Rouse were Parker, Zoe Holmes, and Brittney Martin while Cedar Park had Cami Rettinger and Chika Onyia make the first-team list.  Receiving Second-team honors were Cedar Park’s Aubrey McCarty and Kilee West and the Rouse pair of Chloe Austin and Taylor


Shannon Hazard of Cedar Park and Emily Schaible and Ashley Thompson of Rouse were named All-District Honorable Mention.

Gabby Thomas of Glenn was named 19-4A Second-team All-District.