Local News

Leander candidates draw for ballot order


The City of Leander election campaign officially kicked off this morning as candidates for Mayor and City Council positions 2, 4 and 6 drew straws for ballot position in the May 5 General and Special election.  

Current mayor Chris Fielder announced his decision not to stand for re-election at last month's State of the City address, leaving the position open a field of three candidates including Troy Hill, Vic Villarreal and Adam Benefield. Those three will be listed on the ballot in that order after this morning's draw.

Two candidates are running for each of two City Council seats up this term and four candidates have announced for a third seat. Michelle Stephenson and Philip Contatore are running for City Council Place 2, Ron Abruzzese and Christine Sederquist for Place 4. Derek Livisay, Marshall Hines and Marci Cannon are vying for Place 6.

Candidates must file their first statement of contributions and expenditures by April 5, which is also the last day to register to vote. Early voting will be held from April 23 to May 1 and the general election will be held on Saturday, May 5. Polls are open on election day from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.