Leander, Round Rock HS students among CTE award recipients


Erin Arias of Leander High School and Mary Iliukevich of Round Rock High School were among the 10 students selected to receive a Career and Technical Education Award from Congressman John Carter. 

Carter's office last week announced the winners of the 2019 Outstanding Students in Career and Technical Education Award. Thirty-six students were nominated — the most in the program’s history — and ten students were chosen to receive the award.

“I’m proud to announce the ten winners of the 2019 Outstanding Students in Career and Technical Education Award. These students are shining examples within their respective CTE programs.” Carter said. “The winners come from a variety of programs ranging from automotive, to medical tech, to graphic design." 

Other winners include Matthew Pehl, Belton High School; Adrianna Schlaefer, Belton High School; Breanne Bailey, Florence High School; Clara Ann Steglich, Holland High School; Kristen Cratty, Georgetown High School; Kevin Green, Harker Heights High School; Jinju Schmitz, Temple High School and Hanea Vazquez, Temple High School.

"Central Texas is a leader in career and technical education programs that open doors for students, and I look forward to celebrating these students’ success at the award ceremony this weekend,” Carter said.

The Outstanding Student in Career and Technical Education Award is a nominations-based program designed to recognize the exceptional efforts of students studying CTE skills within the 31st Congressional District of Texas.

The award ceremony will be held at 10 a.m. on Saturday, April 6 at the East Williamson County Higher Education Center in Hutto.