Mayor-backed slate wins in Leander; Duffy, Jefts hold off challengers in Cedar Park

Heather Jefts wins re-election by 1 vote in Cedar Park


Editor's Note: This story is being taken off active publication status, as it has been replaced by the following article: http://hillcountrynews.com/stories/mayor-backed-slate-wins-in-leander-duffy-jefts-hold-off-challengers-in-cedar-park,80076

'Unofficial election results show a slate of candidates backed by Mayor Troy Hill have won election to the city council in Leander, while two of the three incumbents supported by Cedar Park Mayor Corbin Van Arsdale appear to have successfully held off challengers.

In Leander, Kathryn Pantalion-Parker beat rival Laura Lantrip for the Place 1 seat vacated by Andrea Navarrette, who decided not to run for re-election. Pantalion-Parker garnered 65.98% of the vote, with 1,216 votes to Lantrip's 627.

In Leander's Place 3 race, Jason Shaw beat Becki Ross by a similar margin, winning 67.62% of the vote for the seat vacated by Shanan Shepherd, who also decided not to run for re-election this year. Shaw had 1,247 votes to Ross' 597.

The only incumbent running for re-election in Leander, Jeff Seiler, lost his Place 5 seat to challenger Chris Czernek, who tallied 64.68% of the vote. Czernek had 1,194 votes to Seiler's 652.

In Cedar Park, a slate of incumbents supported by Mayor Corbin Van Arsdale had slightly less success, with incumbent Stephen Thomas losing his Place 1 seat to challenger Tim Kelly, while Anne Duffy and Heather Jefts held on for close victories over their challengers Hulyne Christopher and Rodney T. Robinson.

Kelly tallied 52.76% of the vote, with 2,910 ballots in his favor. Thomas had 2,606 votes.

Duffy held off Christopher by 184 votes, earning 51.48% of the vote with a total 2,593 ballots in her favor in the Place 3 race.

In Place 5, Jefts narrowly won re-election with 50.01% of the vote, beating challenger Robinson by just 1 vote — 2,871 to 2,870.

All results are unofficial at this time.