Leander ISD athletes fill softball All-District lists

Glenn, Leander and Vista Ridge made the playoffs this season


The high school softball season is over, and Leander ISD athletes litter the local All-District lists. 

Leander, Vista Ridge and Glenn all made the playoffs. The Lady Lions and Lady Grizzlies fell in the first round, while the Lady Rangers beat San Antonio MacArthur in the first round and lost to San Antonio Holmes in round two. 

Vista Ridge had two players win superlatives along with five players on the All-Districts teams. Senior catcher Daryn Haslam was the Defensive MVP and freshman infielder Morgan Robillard was the Newcomer of the Year. 

Leander freshman outfielder Baylea Brandon was the District 25-6A Offensive MVP. The Lady Lions have made the postseason in five of the last six seasons and, along with Vista Ridge and Vandegrift, will join a district with the Round Rock schools and Hendrickson next year. 

Glenn made the playoffs for the first time in school history and freshman Emily Berryhill took home District 19-4A Newcomer of the Year honors. The Lady Grizzlies move to Class 5A and will be in the same district as Rouse and Cedar Park next season.

District 19-5A

1st Team: 

Kaleigh Ham, Cedar Park, Jr. 

Bailey Vannoy, Rouse, Jr. 

2nd Team: 

Skylar Cooper, Cedar Park, Sr. 

Kathryn Marshall, Cedar Park, Jr. 

Mackenna Raby, Cedar Park, Jr. 

Monica Castaneda, Rouse, Sr. 

Yvonne Castillo, Rouse, Sr. 

Honorable Mention: 

Reagan Hillis, Cedar Park, So. 

Kay Kahlich, Cedar Park, So. 

Shelby Sughrue, Rouse, Sr. 

Kendall White, Rouse, Sr. 

District 25-6A

1st Team: 

Megan Hampton, Leander, Fr. 

Haley Henderson, Leander, Jr. 

Brianna Hale, Vandegrift, Jr. 

Kristian Chapa, Vista Ridge, Jr.

Melayna Lopez, Vista Ridge, Jr. 

Amber Wiggins, Vista Ridge, Jr.

2nd Team: 

Makenzie Catalina, Leander, Sr. 

Jordan Lindsey, Leander, Soph. 

Zoe Kim, Vandegrift, Sr. 

Liv Griego, Vandegrift, Soph. 

Maya Benologa, Vista Ridge, Sr. 

Chloe Smith, Vista Ridge, Sr. 

District 19-4A 

1st Team:

Emily Berryhill, Glenn

Taysia Tate, Glenn

Hailey Arrington, Glenn

Jolene Weaver, Glenn

2nd Team:

Tatiana Johnson, Glenn

Allie Richardson, Glenn

Honorable Mention:

Tyler Johnson, Glenn

Cyanna Ramirez, Glenn

Follow @ByZachSmith and @HCNSports on Twitter for the latest news on all local sports. 

Email: sports@hillcountrynews.com