Leander mayor’s race to include three candidates


Leander and Cedar Park residents have until 5 p.m. Friday to step forward to run for election to city council seats this year. Election day is May 5 and early voting is April 23-May 1.

Three candidates have entered the race for Leander mayor: Place 6 City Council Member Troy Hill, small business owner Adam Benefield and former Austin Community College board member Vic Villarreal.

Hill announced last week that he wanted to be mayor to increase the city’s sales tax revenues, open up zoning restrictions to bring in more corporations and to add Capital Metro service on the weekends. He was elected to the council in 2015 and works for technology firm LMI Solutions. He and his wife Sally have four children.

Adam Benefield is the owner of an irrigation company who has been active in the PTA and Boy Scouts. He is running for mayor to help guide Leander through its current rapid growth in population and business expansion.

“Ali and I want Leander to continue to be a safe, prosperous and healthy place in which to raise our four children,” Benefield said.

Villarreal is a former Leander City Council Member and candidate for mayor who serves on the city’s ethics commission.

In other Leander candidate filings, Place 2 Council Member Michelle Stephenson has filed for re-election. Stephenson was elected to the council in 2015 and previously served on the Planning and Zoning Commission.

Place 4 Council Member Ron Abruzese has drawn opposition to his re-election bid from Christine Sederquist. Abruzzese is a former member of the Planning and Zoning Commission who was elected to the council in 2013 and re-elected in 2015. Sederquist chaired the city Charter Review Commission which recommended charter amendments that will be on Leander ballots on May 5.

Marshall Hines and Marci Cannon have filed for Place 6 City Council Member in Leander. Hines currently serves on the Planning and Zoning Commission. Cannon is a Realtor.

Cedar Park May Election

In Cedar Park, two candidates have filed for the Place 2 Council Member spot held by Corbin Van Arsdale. Mel Kirkland and Michael Thompson are seeking the seat that Van Arsdale is resigning to run for mayor.

Kirkland is a project consultant and Thompson is a software engineer.

Engineer Patrick Walz has filed to run for Place 4 on the Cedar Park City Council, currently held by Cobby Caputo, who announced he will not be seeking re-election in January.

Shellie Hayes-McMahon has filed for Place 6 on the Cedar Park City Council. Hayes-McMahon is an event manager. The seat she is running for is currently held by Kristyne Bollier.